Little Pictures Have Ears

As a tribute to the birthdate (February 7th, 1867) and date of passing (February 10th, 1957) of Ms Laura Ingalls Wilder, I repost the following:

One of my favourite shows as a child was Little House on the Prairie. I know…I was a dweeb! But, because of my upbringing, I learned to love wholesome shows. Recently, my daughter reminded me about a saying that Laura Ingalls used to say: “Little pictures have ears“. By that, Laura was referring to the children, who were nearby, and “seeing” what was going on, but hearing a lot more! Little pictures have ears.

For many years, I thought that you could tell kids what to do, and that would be cool. Train them well, and everything would be all right. What absolute hogwash! Children are mirrors of what happens around them. They will absorb and drip out what goes into them. They soak things up like sponges soak up water. I recently watched this in action. A couple of kids were horsing around in the presence of a two-year old. He watched what they were doing, and when they were done, went over and did the same thing back to them. It only took less than 30 seconds. Little pictures have ears.

Why, then, if we are raising kids in a negative environment, do we expect positive things to come from it? Ouch! If we expose our children to arguing, angry comments or put-downs, will we not also produce children that want to do that to their siblings or to other people?

This was a lesson I learned the hard way! If you are raising a child in a negative environment, be on guard. Actions never lie! In my upcoming book, I quote a poem by Dorothy Law Nolte called Children Learn What They Live. I hope that poem inspires you to guard not only your words, but your actions, around these Little Pictures With Ears!

May You Have Water For Your Journey,

Stephanie, Emerging Princess

You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.

~Khalil Gibran

 
Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Water For The Journey

Book Release PartyOctober 25th, 2013
The long-awaited release of Water For The Journey: 156 Days To Freedom. All day givaways and book release party!
