The Battle Of The Mind

Now if you are going to win any battle you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up. It is always tired in the morning, noon, and night. But the body is never tired if the mind is not tired.

~General George S. Patton

As a man thinketh, so is he; it’s mind over matter…We’ve all heard these phrases. But how does it apply in everyday life? I think we do this more than we realize. It’s called willpower.

This weekend, I will be taking part in a huge lesson in willpower. This week, I have been trying to work on a writing project while looking after a 2-year old. On day one, I decided that I could only get things done after 6pm, so I stayed up many nights until 2am, only to rise at 7:30 or 8am to start the cycle all over again. Yesterday, while my little charge was napping, I decided to nap also. But alas! My mind decided to create my signature poem (I never write poetry, so I seized the opportunity). By the time I was done, the little man was awake! I have definitely not achieved my writing goals for the week, and I am very much in need of sleep!

Oh yeah, about this weekend…For months, I have planned to go to a three-day seminar. It so happens that it falls on the heels of this sleep-deprived, non-productive week. The first session starts this evening, and at about 11pm tonight, I will be practising mind over body techniques. I believe I will have to do it tomorrow morning at about 7:00am when I have to crawl out of bed to continue my marathon seminar session. And on Sunday at about 5pm, I will probably be chanting, “I think I can, I think I can” like Thomas The Tank Engine!

I love my sleep, I always have. Here’s hoping that the moderator is engaging! Let the battle begin!

May your cup always be full,

Emerging Princess

Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Water For The Journey

Book Release PartyOctober 25th, 2013
The long-awaited release of Water For The Journey: 156 Days To Freedom. All day givaways and book release party!
