What’s In a Name?

I have always been very big on what a person‘s name means.  Sometimes people behave in one manner, and people are puzzled by their behaviour.  I usually Google their name and get an answer really quickly.  Names are huge factors in our personality, I believe.

When I had my girls, I gave them each unique names.  My challenge was to find a meaning for these obscure names, or use the meaning of a name that was close to theirs.  I remember spending weeks pouring over name books (internet was not an option at the time) to get information on each one.  I then gave my findings to each of them printed on fine paper and framed.  I’m pleased to know that they have treasured these simple gifts, and it is the first thing to go up in any room that they call theirs.

As I was going through my separation, I knew that I would need to change my name.  I didn’t want to carry around a name from such a past as mine.  However, I loved my married name!  Everyone said it had a nice ring to it.  But, I was no longer that person.  I was also no longer the person that I was when I carried my maiden name, either.  What could I do~based on my penchant for choosing a name?  To add to the problem, when I applied to change my name, the Government informed me that I was not my married name, either.  I had assumed my married name.  Legally, I was still my maiden name.  No wonder I was so confused all the time! 😀

Searching through my genealogy, I looked for a name that would make me into the person that I saw myself becoming.  I decided to take the name of my maternal grandfather.  Now, I carry both sides of my family in my name.  But more importantly, the name reminds me when I am going through “stuff”, that I can get through it.

Tomorrow, I am going to do something that requires me to embrace my name with all the passion I can muster.  I will be on Toronto’s  favourite radio station, CHFI, and the Breakfast Television Show simultaneously.  While there, I shall be talking about Violence Against Women on behalf of the Canadian Women’s Foundation, and sharing my story.  I have been somewhat low-key about the whole thing.  I have not shared that I will be on television to many people…Until now.  Actually, my story has been on both CHFI’s and Breakfast Television’s websites for the past two weeks.  “Quietly”, I have been telling the world about what I’ve been through.  Telling my story is my calling, but as of tomorrow, it will no longer be quiet.

As I go forward as the new me, “the Princess who is a Courageous Giant”, I don’t believe that I won’t have problems.  Far from it!  However, I do know that I will need to stand tall and doubt myself less.  No one runs away from a Giant (except in the case of David and Goliath).  And if she maintains a good public presence, most Princesses are adored.  I can Courageously go forward in that knowledge.

What does your name mean?
I remain, Stephanie Titus-Andrews
Emerging Princess

May Your Cup Always Be Full!

For all the people you know named “Stephanie”…bet you didn’t know that this song existed!  (It may be kinda hokey, but it’s MINE! :D)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Asa Zelada
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 04:07:09

    I think this is among the most significant information for me. And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Water For The Journey

Book Release PartyOctober 25th, 2013
The long-awaited release of Water For The Journey: 156 Days To Freedom. All day givaways and book release party!
