Living Lightly (Part III)

In my last blog, I talked about Leaving and Living a Legacy. Today, I will tackle the first part of my speech, “Live Lightly”. But, what exactly does this mean?

By Living Lightly, I refer to letting go of the non-important incidents that happen in your life. Do you sweat the small stuff? Does everything have to be done a certain way, or you will be out of sorts?  Are you a person who must have your Starbuck’s coffee each morning, or you’re doomed?  Can you move on after a disagreement, or do you hold on to it for months on end?

I love to have certain things done in a particular manner, and items in my house put in particular places. However, after starting my Coaching practice, I realized that it takes a lot of time. I have adult children who now assist with many aspects of running my household. As a result of this, I have had to learn which battles are worth picking, and which ones that just have to go! And, occasionally, the motherly stubbornness wants to set in and take over, but I much prefer to have a relationship with my kids than quibble over something that won’t change our value system.

For me, taking public transit definitely teaches me to Live Lightly. Toronto is a very eclectic city. Unfortunately, some people were not taught manners at an early age~or they have forgotten them. When you are sitting on a train and someone is blasting loud music while you are trying to study Psychology, well, you either get angry, or learn to Live Lightly. The relative that really annoys you at family functions~they are you, Living Lightly personified!

Living Lightly, like Leaving a Legacy, is a choice. Take some time to analyze the situation that is before you. Ask yourself, “Will this matter tomorrow, next week, next month or next year”? Most times, this elevates the situation to the “absurd” level and makes it not worth the fight.

Letting go, forgiving and Living Lightly all go hand-in-hand.  Next time, I will address how I Live Liberally.

Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Water For The Journey

Book Release PartyOctober 25th, 2013
The long-awaited release of Water For The Journey: 156 Days To Freedom. All day givaways and book release party!
