Just Try It (You’ll Like It)

Brussels Sprouts

Brussels Sprouts (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We will soon be at http://www.EmergingPrincess.com.  Keep Posted! 

C’mon, you’ve said that phrase to someone before, haven’t you?  If you’re a Mom, you’ve probably used it on your kids.  “Just try it,” we usually say this when the kids have turned their noses up at the sight of broccoli or squash.  I remember having to eat brussels sprouts when I was a kid.  The phrase “try it” was not in my parents’ vocab.  It was, “Eat it, or else!”

I recall cooking brussels sprouts again when I was an adult.

“I haven’t tried it in a while,” I thought.  “It may have improved.”  Not!  It was still the yucky vegetable that I remembered.

Years after that, I saw the cruciferous fiend, still on stalks, at a farmer’s market.  I stood in front of the stall reluctantly.

“These are freshly picked”, the farmer said.  They are delicious.  You gotta try it.”  Eagerly, I brought them home.  I sautee’d them with onions and garlic.  I proudly served it to my kids.

“The farmer at the market said that these were fresh and delicious.  We’re gonna try it again.”  I have to tell ya, my kids were not very eager.  They took a bite of one and said,

“Blech—this is bitter!”  I could feel disbelief sweeping over me.  I believed the farmer.  Surely, he wouldn’t steer me wrong?  I tried one and…

“Blech!”  I said as I spat it out into the garbage.  I then promised the kids that they did not have to eat anything that I thought was yucky.  Apparently, the farmer’s idea of delicious and mine were miles apart.

Let me ask you, when you “try” something, do you expect to succeed?  The very act of trying, by definition, means:

  1. 1.  Make an attempt or effort do something
  2. 2.  An effort to accomplish something; an attempt

During a recent seminar, the facilitator of created many “Aha” moments for the class, by pointing out that, as humans, we often keep “trying” instead of doing.  After all, Nike’s slogan is “Just do it”, not “Just Try To Do It”.  That revelation hit me like a tonne of bricks.  There were so many things that I tried in the past (and not completely succeed at).  The most important thing was that I was applying that view to my business.  I was “trying” to be successful instead of focusing on doing it.  I am glad that I was already at a point where I was re-organizing what I was doing and how I was going to do it.

So, here’s where Emerging Princess is going.  My original coaching business, “Created to Excel”, will be brought under the umbrella of Emerging Princess.  My coaching is still for women.  My focus will now be “Helping Women Recover From Life’s Setbacks”, not just from abuse.  The mandate is:  Hope, Direction & Strength for Hurting Women.  If you’ve:

*  Lost a spouse (due to relationship break up)

*  Lost a job,

*  Lost a home

*  Lost all your money, or

*  Lost the zeal for living;

I’ve been there.  I’ve survived these setbacks—and more—and am now thriving.  For the past 18 months, I’ve helped other women thrive as well with my coaching.  Lastly, I will also speak wherever and whenever I can to motivate and inspire women and young girls.

There will be lots of blogs.  As a result of my illness this summer, I am living a more holistic life.  I will feature things and people who have helped me become better, which may also help you.  I will also share recipes and tips that have helped me to be a healthier person.  I will also do weekly posts from a Christian perspective.  My faith is an integral part of my life.  Emerging Princess is where you will be able to find help for the whole woman to thrive.

This journey has had a lot of ups and downs.  People say that you should do what you find yourself thinking about.  For me, that’s my business.  I constantly think about how I can help my clients that I come in contact with.

As I rebrand, I’m not going to “try it”.  I am going confidently on the path of my dreams.  Like Nike’s slogan says, I’m “Just Do(ing) It”!

May Your Cup Always Be Full!

Emerging Princess,

Hope, Direction & Strength For Hurting Women

On this December 6th, I want to honour the women who’s lives were lost so many years ago in a senseless slaying.  Here is a link to my blog from last year with My December 6th story.

December 6th Memorial

Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Water For The Journey

Book Release PartyOctober 25th, 2013
The long-awaited release of Water For The Journey: 156 Days To Freedom. All day givaways and book release party!
