Bah Humbug!

Toronto Skyline

Toronto Skyline (Photo credit: Bobolink)

Every October, as the cold weather approaches, I question my parents’ decision to immigrate to Canada.  The leaves on the trees embark on their beautiful colour spectacles, as they grasp one last hoorah.  They would rather die than face the cold days ahead.  Squirrels and other city-dwelling animals gather a little extra food to help them through the cold weather.  They do not hibernate fully in the Tdot (Toronto).  Eventually, the Canada geese even leave the country for which they were named.

My mantra is:  “Brown girl don’t like the cold”.  I mean, look where brown people are naturally located on the globe.  It’s hot, or tropical, and mangoes or coconuts are the usual native fruits.  There is also a slower pace of life.  It is not because the people are lazy, rather, they are preventing over-exertion!  Getting very tired from the heat, or even developing heat stroke is a very present reality.  That is not the case here from October to April.  Those months are Bah Humbug months to me.  And now that the Christmas Season is finished, winter is definitely upon us!

One person that I met back in October told me that he switched to winter weather thinking.  This piqued my interest, so I asked for more details.  His belief was that, if it wasn’t snoring, or there wasn’t sleet/freezing rain or hail, and if it wasn’t bitterly cold, then it was a good day.  “Hmm”, I thought, he might have a point”.  Could I possibly ENJOY winter!?

English: Tobogganing in Ottawa, Canada.

English: Tobogganing in Ottawa, Canada. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As a kid, I went tobogganing, skating—though quite poorly, and had a blast outside.  Winters are mostly mild enough that if I bundled up well, I could still stave the cold.  The one thing that I will do is to take my grandson tobogganing. There is no shortage of things to do in Toronto and the surrounding areas during the winter.  I have scoured the events calendars, and decided that I will take in one festival-like event every two weeks, even if it is outdoors!  🙂  I figure there’s strength, and warmth, in numbers!  A special-interest course at a local high school will round off the mix.  Before long, April and the beautiful warm weather will be upon us.  H’mm, maybe I’ll even start skating again…Let’s not get carried away!

Do you like winter?  What is your favourite winter activity?   Perhaps by embracing it, you can Create a Path to Your Excellent Future!

May Your Cup Always Be Full,

Emerging Princess

Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Water For The Journey

Book Release PartyOctober 25th, 2013
The long-awaited release of Water For The Journey: 156 Days To Freedom. All day givaways and book release party!
