Vision Gives Pain a Purpose

Vision Gives Pain a Purpose has become my one of my many mantras.  This is a quote from one of my favourite ministers, Kris Vallotton.  It is the heart of everyone who is a Coach.  Anyone who wants to accomplish something new.  Anyone who wants to grow.

As humans, we want to give up so easily.  I am a die-harder.  I will keep at something until the cows go home.  I stayed in a bad relationship for over 23 years, for goodness sake!  My passion was misplaced, but my pain had a purpose~to give my girls a family.  If you don’t understand this quote, here are a few examples of the passion/purpose connection.

Olympic athlete Usain Bolt trains 3-4 hours each day, plus sprint training.  The daily drills prepared him mentally for many, many years.  He didn’t just wake up and decide to run in the Olympics!  Yet, despite the many long hours of training, winning a gold medal was the purpose for his pain.

*  One of my favourite Smooth Jazz singers, Maysa, took years before she recorded her first solo album.  She sang back-up for Stevie Wonder, and headlined for the R&B band Incognito before releasing an album in 1995.  Her passion for singing kept her going, learning at the feet of greatness, until her passion came to fruition.

*  Thomas Eddison conducted 9,999 experiments before he successfully created the lightbulb.  When he was asked about why he kept going after so many failures, he responded, “I have not failed.  I found 9,999 ways that won’t work”.  He was passionate about putting away candles as the main method of lighting our lives.  He pushed past the pain of “failing” 9, 900, 9,000 and even 9,999 times.  I daresay that we would probably not last past 9.

*  Personally, I made a goal almost three years ago.  It is supposed to come together later this year.  My kids have joked me about it.  At  a recent Single Mom’s event, it was used as an icebreaker.  Some days, I wonder if I was crazy for taking on this elaborate a mission, especially since so many factors are yet to be determined.  Yet, I will not be deterred.  Many

English: Nelson Mandela in Johannesburg, Gaute...

English: Nelson Mandela in Johannesburg, Gauteng, on 13 May 1998 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

have gone before me who have successfully accomplished it.  The passion of its completion burns in my psyche, and the pain of seeming setbacks is channelled into the purpose for doing each activity that is involved.

Nelson Mandela said, “It always seems impossible until it is done”.  “So many of our dreams at first seem impossible, then they seem improbable, and then, when we summon the will, they soon become inevitable.”  Christopher Reeve penned this quote, and his passion to walk again made the pain of his every day existence have a purpose.

Do you have a goal?  Are you so passionate about accomplishing this feat, that you would not let setbacks and bumps in the road discourage you from accomplishing it?  If you do, your passion and Vision will give your Pain a Purpose!

May Your Cup Always Be Full,

Emerging Princess

Leave a Reply

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Water For The Journey

Book Release PartyOctober 25th, 2013
The long-awaited release of Water For The Journey: 156 Days To Freedom. All day givaways and book release party!
